Ye Olde Homestead

October 13, 2007

I have been wondering why the address that you lived at when you first learned your address sticks in your head forever. In my case, in a sing-songy kind of way – “189 Elizabeth Street, Oradell, New Jersey.” I can’t make it come out the same way in writing as it does in my head.

189ElizabethSt
Why am I thinking about this? We were in Oradell last weekend for a soccer game, and dear friend Jonathan drove me by the house that I was born in! I hadn’t been there since we moved in 1962.

It looked remarkably similar to my memory, except that I remember the back yard as being HUGE and it is really very tidy. I remember that we had rabbits – they would sometimes escape, and we would have to chase them ALL OVER the yard – which is probably only 30 feet by 30 feet. I guess that was big to a 6-year old.

What a fun excursion! I can’t believe that I have lived back in New Jersey for 25 years, and this is the first time I have been back to Oradell.

One Response to “Ye Olde Homestead”

  1. Sharon said

    Very cool!

    We’re actually taking the boys to Long Island during the NJ Teacher’s Convention weekend so they can see the house where I grew up. I guess it’s, quite literally, old home month.

Leave a Reply

